top of page

Superman!


Last week I wanted to take Ali, Sabih and his German girlfriend to the cinema. I suggested several films to Ali and he decided on Superman. So we went to see this blockbuster in glorious Dolby stereo surround sound and 3D. Might as well go the whole hog!

When we first arrived at the cinema, the boys were a bit intimidated by the gigantic movie theater, however their excited anticipation prevailed and each of them got a huge container of popcorn to hold onto for support. [if !supportLineBreakNewLine]

As there were many battle scenes thoughout the film I feared the worst for the two boys. But when I gave a side glance and noticed how the pair were sprawled in their seats munching on popcorn, it was clear: it wasn’t a problem!

I didn’t have a clue about the Superman/Batman story and did my best in the first hour to understand what was happening. At a certain point I gave up and decided simply to enjoy the special effects, even though this was not my preferred film genre. Thus I survived the 3 hours (trailers and film) and even managed to enjoy myself :-) Afterwards Ali and Sabih explained a bit of their own ‘Superman experiences‘ from their childhood.

On the way back via Kurfürstendamm we encountered a convoy of beeping cars belonging to a Turkish wedding. Both of the boys were familiar with this scene as they chatted about similar happenings from their homeland. Everyone was relaxed and happy and I believe for both boys as well as Sabih’s girlfriend it had been a pretty good afternoon.

Conclusion and feedback from the boys: the cinema was a great success with applicable educational elements on all levels :-)

[if !supportLineBreakNewLine] [endif]

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page