top of page

Between Kebab Shops and Little Green Men


It’s been half a week since I arrived in Berlin, my new home. Now I’ve got six months to get to know this colourful and lively city. :D My name is Naema, I’m 22 years old and I’m honoured to intern here at Visioneers. Normally, I spend most of my time in the small student town of Marburg, where I study Social Work and Practical Theology. When I was looking for an internship, I came across a Visioneers ad—and was hooked straightaway. I’m fascinated by the idea of connecting people from different backgrounds and countries. That’s something I’ve already experienced in my first three working days which I spent with the Visioneers team, the weltwärts volunteers, Costa Ricans and young people of Afghan origin. We attended a seminar in Gussow together to be trained as workshop and seminar instructors. I enjoyed the community spirit and got to experience first-hand the Visioneers vibe that shows itself in a super laid-back atmosphere. I’m looking forward to my time with the team as well as the kids and teenagers. I hope that I’ll be able put my passions to good use here and that I’ll keep discovering what makes my heart beat faster. Hopefully I’ll be able to support Visioneers with my time and energy. I also hope that all the practical experiences will give me a motivational boost for the second half of my studies.



Now, everything’s kicking off properly and I’m looking forward to being part of a new project straightaway. I’ll be working with Giresse (the social workter at Visioneers) on the “Fair Play – Boxen schafft Gemeinschaft” (i.e. “Fair Play—Boxing Creates Community”) programme which will offer boxing classes for refugee teenagers. We will offer boxing classes and workshops that give the boys the opportunity to let off steam through exercise. Furthermore, I’ll support kids with special educational needs as part of the “Lernbrücken” (i.e. “Learning Bridges”) project. Other than that, I’ll also be spending time in the office to help the team with admin.

I’m excited about what’s to come and looking forward to getting to know everything. :D

Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page